FR EN
line-blue

Swimming the World

So, it has been about 6 years that I go to a shrink. Until now, I had always had something to tell him. He didn’t know me well, so it was easy. Now it is much harder, I don't know what else to say. I’m afraid of ending with small talk, talking about things that don’t belong in this type of office. I don’t have a major problem, I have all that is needed to be happy but sometimes I don’t know what to tell him, I don’t know where to start and that stresses me. It is also this long silence during the whole session that bothers me. One day he told me that this was a normal phase, that I had told him everything about my daily and practical concerns, that I was blocked because somewhere inside of myself I was afraid to touch on the more hidden and painful issues. So I let go completely. I talked about my 2017 and 2018 objectives. It has been therefore 6 months that he has become a customer of his own practice and I, now, I talk to my cat as the craziest thing is to be normal in this crazy world...

Swimming the World is my next goal. I foresee some adventurous, epic and scary swims, some of them were already attempted, many were already achieved and some were not. Some will be local swims, other will be exotic ones. Again, this will be a pathway along which I will have to develop and improve different physical and mental abilities, a pathway along which I will have to adapt and confront myself to a different environment, a pathway along which I will have to combat new fears.

When you think of Loch Ness in Scotland, what comes to mind? I am guessing your answer would be something like "That mythical, frightening monster" and not, say something like "Swimming across it"... I am heading to it. The Loch Ness swim, is a 221?2 miles (36.2km) along the length of the Loch in a water temperature not hotter that the one from the rainwater temperature. The Loch Ness is one master piece foreseen in June 2017. It will pave the way for a 2-way English Channel swim in June 2018.

Gonna talk to my cat (fish) again.

FR EN
line-blue

Swimming the World

Voilà, cela fait plus ou moins 6 ans que je vais chez un psy. Jusqu’à present, j’avais toujours eu quelque chose à lui dire. Il ne me connaissait pas bien, c’était assez facile. Maintenant c’est beaucoup plus difficile, je ne sais plus quoi dire. J’ai peur de dire des banalités, des choses qui n’ont plus leur place dans son cabinet. Je n’ai pas de grave problème, j’ai tout pour être heureux mais parfois je ne sais vraiment pas quoi raconter, je ne sais pas par où commencer et cela m’angoisse. C’est aussi ce long silence durant toute la durée de la séance qui est gênant. Un jour, il m’a dit que c’était une étape normale, que j’avais tout dit concernant mes sujets de préoccupation quotidiens et pratiques, que je bloquais parce que quelque part en moi j’avais peur d’aborder des choses plus douloureuses et enfouies. Alors je me suis totalement libéré. Je lui ai présenté mes objectifs 2017 et 2018. Cela fait désormais 6 mois qu’il est devenu client de son propre service et moi, maintenant, je parle à mon chat car après tout c’est bien la pire folie que d’être sage dans un monde de fous …

«Swimming the World» est mon prochain objectif. Je prévois ainsi quelques nages aventureuses, épiques et effrayantes. Certaines d’entre elles ont déjà été tentées, beaucoup ont déjà été réussies et certaines ne le sont pas encore. Certaines nages seront locales, d’autres seront plus exotiques. Encore une fois, «Swimming the World» sera un chemin au long duquel je devrais développer et améliorer différentes capacités physiques et mentales, un chemin ou je devrais m’adapter, me confronter à un environnement différent, ou je devrais surmonter de nouvelles peurs. 

C’est donc un mythe que j’irai chasser en juin 2017 puisque je m’essaierais à la traversée du Loch Ness en Ecosse (36,2 kilomètres) dans une eau à peine plus froide que celle qui tombe du ciel. Cette tentative ouvrira la voie à une tentative de double traversée de la Manche en juin 2018.

Bon, c’est dit... je retourne parler à mon poisson-chat.